Give Now

Gratitude inspires
hope and healing


We invite you to stay apprised of the latest developments at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital by signing up for our newsletter. 

Eight Fellows Receive Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Awards

Eight Fellows Receive Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Awards

Eight Washington University School of Medicine physicians at Barnes-Jewish Hospital were recently honored with 2020 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Awards that recognize and support medical residents who exemplify a compassionate spirit combined with outstanding knowledge and skill.

The physicians were recognized during a virtual ceremony held on Jan. 26, 2021.

The awards program fund was established in 1984 by St. Louis real estate and business leader Charles J. Cella to honor his physician, Norman Knowlton Jr., MD, for his compassionate caregiving. Dr. Knowlton was a professor emeritus of clinical medicine in internal medicine at Washington University and Barnes-Jewish Hospital. Both men have since passed away.

The Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Fund at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital is stewarded by a committee chaired by Dr. Norman Knowlton, III. In the past 35 years, more than 200 awards have been given to fellows who have completed internal medicine residency programs, embody the “Knowlton spirit” of care, and are likely to practice in the St. Louis area. This year’s recipients and their fellowship areas are:

Samantha Adamson, MD, PhD, endocrinology/metabolism

Michael “Josh” Hendrix, MD, infectious diseases

Brett Herzog, MD, PhD, endocrinology/metabolism

Christian McNeely, MD, cardiology

Benjamin “Ben” Rogers, MD, MS, gastroenterology

Can Sungur, MD, PhD, rheumatology

Christine Auberle, MD, internal medicine

Jacqueline “Jackie” Pires, MD, internal medicine

Previous Article Illumination Gala Raises more than $3.5 million for Cancer Research
Next Article Foundation Grants Awarded in 2020