Give Now

Gratitude inspires
hope and healing


We invite you to stay apprised of the latest developments at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital by signing up for our newsletter. 

2022 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award Recipients

Pictured left to right: Dr. Norman Knowlton Jr. and Charles J. Cella and Dr. Norman Knowlton Jr.

Six Washington University School of Medicine physicians at Barnes-Jewish Hospital were recently honored with a 2022 Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Award.  The Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Awards recognize and support medical residents who exemplify a compassionate spirit combined with outstanding knowledge and skill.

The physicians were celebrated during a ceremony held Nov. 28, 2022.

The Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Fund was established in 1984 by St. Louis real estate and business leader Charles J. Cella to honor his physician, Norman Knowlton Jr., MD, for his compassionate caregiving. Dr. Knowlton was a professor emeritus of clinical medicine in internal medicine at Washington University and Barnes-Jewish Hospital. Both men have since passed away.

The Knowlton Incentive for Excellence Fund at The Foundation for Barnes-Jewish Hospital is stewarded by a committee chaired by Dr. Norman Knowlton III. John Cella, Charles J. Cella's son, serves on the committee as well. In the past 35 years, more than 200 awards have been given to fellows who have completed internal medicine residency programs, embody the “Knowlton spirit” of care, and are likely to practice in the St. Louis area.

The 2022 recipients and areas of practice are:

Tinu Aluko, MD, Rheumatology

Aisling Doyle, MD, Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Cassandra Fritz, MD, MPHS, Gastroenterology

Donald Hong, MD, Infectious Diseases

Samuel Lindner, MD, Cardiovascular

Max Petersen, MD, PhD, Endocrinology

Pictured from left to right: Norman Knowlton III, MD; Donald Hong, MD; Sam Lindner, MD; Aisling Doyle, MD; John Lynch, MD; Max Petersen, MD, PhD; Tinu Aluko, MD; John Cella. Not pictured: Cassandra Fritz, MD, MPHS (Photo by: Tim Parker Photography)

Previous Article Dr. David Mutch Honored with 2022 President's Achievement Award
Next Article 2022 Community Health Improvement Impact Report